ACM Previews

Tonight is the ACM awards.  Some of the nominations are pretty … questionable.  Some are well-deserved.  Before I offer my predictions, I’m going to go through the major categories and redo them if I had my druthers:

Song of the Year

Break Up in the End – Cole Swindell

Broken Halos – Chris Stapleton

Meant to Be – Bebe Rexha ft. Florida-Georgia Line

Space Cowboy – Kacey Musgraves

Tequila – Dan + Shay

Yours – Russell Dickerson

Chris Stapleton and Kacey Musgraves both have great songs on here, though I may have gone with different singles for each.  “Yours” wan’t my cup of tea, but it’s a good song that’s hard to argue with it’s popularity.  The songs I scratched out are bad country, bad pop, and brain-cell killing country respectively.  Let’s replace them with:

All on Me – Devin Dawson

Get Along – Kenny Chesney

I Could Use a Love Song – Maren Morris

Honorable Mention: Round Here Buzz – Eric Church

Single of the Year (Has to be Top 20)

Down to the Honky Tonk – Jake Owen

Heaven – Kane Brown

Meant to Be – Bebe Rexha ft. Florida-Georgia Line

Most People are Good – Luke Bryan

Tequila – Dan + Shay

Let’s just be real here – These are all not-good songs.  Even “Most People Are Good” is staying here just because I hated to replace the whole category in this list.  “Heaven” is an OK single, but it’s not single-of-the-year material.  The rest are just downright bad.  Let’s add:

Legends – Kelsea Ballerini

Drowns the Whiskey – Jason Aldean ft. Miranda Lambert

Everything’s Going to Be Alright – David Lee Murphy ft. Kenny Chesney

Take Back Home Girl – Chris Lane ft. Tori Kelly

Honorable Mentions: Coming Home – Keith Urban ft. Julia Michaels, All Day Long – Garth Brooks

Album of the Year

Dan + Shay – Dan + Shay

Desperate Man – Eric Church

From a Room, Volume 2 – Chris Stapleton

Golden Hour – Kacey Musgraves

These are good nominees for the most part.  Dan+Shay is shallow, country-pop that is overrated, but the rest are very strong offerings.  Good job ACMs! I don’t get why we are limited to 4 nominees, though.  Let’s add:

Girl Going Nowhere – Ashley McBryde

Honorable Mention: Port Saint Joe – Brothers Osborne

New Duo or Group (Announced Winner in Bold)

High Valley


Runaway June

No Complaints Here

New Male Artist (Announced Winner in Bold)

Jimmie Allen

Luke Combs

Jordan Davis

Michael Ray

Mitchell Tenpenny

I’ll tackle this after New Female Artist

New Female Artist (Announced Winner in Bold)

Danielle Bradbery

Lindsay Ell

Ashley McBryde

Carly Pearce

New Female Artist inexplicably got a whole nominee less than New Male Artist.  There’s no good reason for this, as there are several female artists who could have gotten a nomination here.  There’s two options.  First, we can drop Mitchell Tenpenny since nothing he’s done so far has been impressive.  Our other option is we can add Cam, Cassadee Pope, or RaeLynn to the Female list.


Lady Antebellum


Little Big Town


Old Dominion

No Complaints Here


Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line


Maddie & Tae

No Complaints Here

Male Artist

Dierks Bentley

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

No Complaints Here

Female Artist

Miranda Lambert

Ashley McBryde

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

I love Miranda Lambert.  She is an incredible talent.  If we’re just going to look at 2018, though, she didn’t have any album releases and very few singles.  Kelsea Ballerini was somehow completely snubbed.  If we’re going to have a hard-cap of 5 nominees, Ballerini had several more higher-performing singles and a fairly recent album that should have given her an edge for one of these spots.

Let’s Add: Kelsea Ballerini


Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Kenny Chesney

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

This is tough, because while we need to fix the gender imbalance in Country Music, most of these artists released good records with several high-performing singles.  Since Bryan’s album released in 2017 and his singles weren’t as good as the others, I took him out.  Kacey Musgraves and Ashley McBryde both put out excellent albums that would make them EOTY worthy.

Lets Add:

Kacey Musgraves

Ashley McBryde

My Thoughts on the Actual Nominations

Song of the Year:

Should Win: Space Cowboy – Kacey Musgraves

Will Win: Tequila – Dan + Shay

Single of the Year:

Should Win: Most People are Good – Luke Bryan

Will Win: Down to the Honkytonk – Jake Owen

Album of the Year:

Should Win: Desperate Man – Eric Church

Will Win: Dan + Shay – Dan + Shay

New Duo or Group

Should Win: Runaway June

Won: Lanco

New Male Artist:

Should Win: Michael Ray

Won: Luke Combs

New Female Artist:

Should Win: Ashley McBryde

Won: Ashley McBryde


Should Win: Midland

Will Win: Old Dominion


Should Win: Maddie & Tae

Will Win: Dan + Shay

Male Artist

Should Win: Chris Stapleton

Will Win: Keith Urban

Female Artist

Should Win: Kacey Musgraves

Will Win: Miranda Lambert


Should Win: Chris Stapleton

Will Win: Jason Aldean



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s